Skip to content

iPhone 5 has a 4″ screen and is selling 50 million units/quarter. iPhone 6 may have a 5″ Display, does this compute ?

February 25, 2013

iPhone 5 has a 4″ screen and is selling 50 million units/quarter.
iPhone 6 may have a 5″ screen, does this compute ?

The iPad with its 9.7″ display was studied, even to the point that Apple Executives said “no other Pad screen-size would work.” However, be that as it may, the FOLKs, you and me, tens of millions of us, want a more portable iPad. And as you likely have heard reported, Apple is straining to make the the “min” iPads fast enough.

IMHO, a 5″ iPhone 6 will sell like crazy too, as many folks want a bigger screen, even if they need three hands to hold it… Some folks want a smaller foot-print like the present size/shape of the iPhone 5., which is fine too. One size fits all mentality, is a “very bad idea” for devices as personal as SmartPhones.

Apple, forget this notion that ALL the iPhone models must be usable with one hand, and one’s thumb. If I were in the Apple Design chain of command, I’d have THREE iPhone sizes, Standard, Mini, and Pro versions. Lets say 3″, 4″ and 5″ Display models, whatever Apple decides to call it

I don’t care what it costs, figuratively speaking, I want two things:

(A) Bigger iPhone display. (B) Retinal display resolution on the iPad-mini.

One way Apple could get closer to a 5″ display is by increasing the physical size of the current iPhone 5 display while maintaining the 1136Γ—640 pixel “dimension.” The result would spreading all the pixels a bit further apart, resulting in a slightly lower pixel density.

At 4″ diagonally, the 1136Γ—640 pixel display of the iPhone 5 has the same pixel density as the iPhone 4 and iPhone 4S, which is 326ppi, for the 727,000 pixels. If the Apple engineer stretched, spread out the same 727,000 pixels to a 5″ diagonal screen, the resultant PPI, the pixels per inch, decreases to 264ppi, an almost indistinguishable change visually speaking. Incidentally the pixel density of the Retina display of the iPad v3, is exactly 264ppi. Is this by coincidence too, or by design?

I don’t believe in “coincidences” particularly anything Apple does. EVERYTHING Apple does, they do on purpose. Making Apple devices easy to use, making Apple devices with incredible physical quality, the buttons, their placement, their size, thickness, diameter, the materials, its finish, every minute detail is VERY much “on purpose.”
Multiply this discipline and effort for every component, software interface, user stroke, iOS code line… everything is analyzed, studied, tested, retested… to the “N”th degree…

Another “coincidence”… the newly released iPad-mini’s display resolution, matches the density, 163 ppi, of the iPhones 3G and 3GS.

15 Comments
  1. Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your blog. You have some really great posts and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an e-mail if interested. Regards!

  2. I’m pretty pleased to uncover this great site. I want to to thank you for your time just for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoyed every bit of it and i also have you book marked to look at new stuff in your blog.

  3. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing. I have had difficulty clearing my mind in getting my ideas out there. I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or hints?

    Thanks!

    • My problem, my mind runs much faster than my typing. I write, read it, move segments around, reread. Doing it well is not necessarily easy. Where there is passion on a topic, the thoughts flow fast… Therefore I type as fast as I can, and correct later, so I don’t loose the rhythm of the thoughts. Spending a few minutes to organize your thoughts is a good thing. Don’t be in such a hurry. JimW.

  4. First off I would like to say awesome blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing.
    I have had difficulty clearing my mind in getting my ideas out there.
    I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are
    wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or hints?
    Thanks!

  5. Hello! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few months of hard work due to no
    back up. Do you have any methods to protect against hackers?

  6. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites really nice,
    keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back in the future. Many thanks

  7. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment
    is added I get four e-mails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from
    that service? Appreciate it!

  8. Whats up are using WordPress for your blog platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own.
    Do you require any coding knowledge to make your own blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  9. Terrific post however I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this topic?

    I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Appreciate it!

  10. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this website. It’s simple,
    yet effective. A lot of times it’s very hard to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appeal. I must say that you’ve done a excellent job with this.
    Additionally, the blog loads super fast for me on
    Safari. Superb Blog!

Leave a Reply

